Build Blog

Japan season at Build

Story added 7th Nov 2018

Japan season at Build

Over the last few years Japan has become one of the most popular tourist destinations in the world. Not only are people travelling from all over the globe to visit this beautiful country but people are craving to know more about its language, culture, history and food. We are delighted to showcase our portfolio of Japan-theme courses in our upcoming Japan season!

From neon-lit Tokyo to the cherry blossoms of Mount Yoshino, Japan has long been a source of fascination for the West. With its distinctive architecture, zen rock gardens and delicate sushi, this island country blends futuristic design with centuries of tradition, as well as enjoying the longest life expectancy in the world.

Whether you’ve enjoyed time in Japan or are inspired from afar, our season of themed courses is a chance to whisk yourself away to the land of the rising sun.

 

Make the most of Build’s Japan season with our special offer*:

 

• 10% off when buying two Japan-themed courses - voucher code: JAPAN10

• 15% off when buying three Japan-themed courses - voucher code: JAPAN15

• 20% off when buying four Japan-themed courses - voucher code: JAPAN20

 

Art and Design

The influence of Japan on Western art in the 19th century - Fri 25 Jan, 14:00-16:00

Paper marbling - Sat 25 May, 10:30-16:30 

Japanese woodcut - Sun 17 Mar, 10:00-17:00

Make a Kimono - Mon 8 Jul, 18:00-21:00   

Introduction to Shibori dyeing - Thur 24 Jan, 18:00-21:00 

Shibori into stitch - Thur 2 May, 18:00-21:00  

Try it out: nuno felting - Sun 7 Jul, 10:00-17:00

Anime character design - Tue 12 Feb, 14:00-17:00

Recycled fashion: textile embellishment and print - Sat 16 Feb, 10:30-16:30

Humanities

Godzilla and the emergence of modern Japan - Sun 3 Feb, 10:30-16:30

Japanese imperialism from 1914-1945 - Mon 18 Feb, 15:00-17:00

Japanese philosophy in a nutshell - Mon 14 Jan, 18:00-19:30

Focus on Japan: J-pop idols from the outside in - Sun 10 Mar, 10:30-16:30

Focus on Japan: religion and nothingness - Sun 17 Mar, 10:30-16:30

Language and Culture

Japanese etiquette - Sat 26 Jan, 10:00-15:00

Taste Japan - Sat 2 Feb, 10:00-14:30

Tokyo: an insider's guide - Fri 8 Feb, 18:00-20:30 

Japanese festivals - Fri 22 Feb, 18:00-21:00

Japanese calligraphy - Fri 15 Mar, 18:30-20:30

Japanese: the wonders of onomatopoeia - Fri 5 Apr, 18:15-20:45 

Massage and Complementary Therapies

Build tasters: shiatsu - Mon 1 Apr, 14:00-17:00

TSUBOKI Japanese face massage - Sat 13 Apr, 10:00-17:00

Japanese facial rejuvenation: a CPD workshop - Sat 23 Mar, 10:00-17:30

Science and Nature

Wellbeing

Flora japonica delectationem - Fri 8 Mar, 14:00-16:30

Ikagi: the Japanese secret to a long and happy life - Tue 19 Mar, 10:00-17:00

Shinrin-yoku: nature therapy - Tue 9 Apr, 13:00-16:00

 

Writing

Writing haiku poetry - Sat 2 Mar, 10:30-16:30

*Terms and conditions

The offer is for:

• 10% off when buying two Japan-themed courses - voucher code: JAPAN10

• 15% off when buying three Japan-themed courses - voucher code: JAPAN15

• 20% off when buying four Japan-themed courses - voucher code: JAPAN20

• The offer starts on 06/11/18 and ends on 15/03/19.

• The offer is valid on full fees.

• The discount can only be used twice per student.

• Our normal refund and transfer policies apply.  

• The offer will be invalidated if a student requests a refund or a transfer.  The difference between the discounted and full fees for all courses will be applicable and charged.